Home

On a Quest for Jonny

August 1, 2013

Okay well it’s me the Dysu and lets jes have some fun today hey Cats & Kittens. I spend so much time being serious on this blog (“what?” yer all asking “yer serious about this crazy stuff you say?”) that sometimes it’s nice to jesthe ol dysu throw off the shackles of social responsibility (which is my true nature of course) and say screw it lets jes have fun.

One of the Ol Unit’s foundational building blocks and jes another reason my generations childhood was so much better than those that followed was a little TV show called “Jonny Quest” (whoops I slipped in some judgmental opinion there I’m sorry, jes bout the fun, jes bout the fun)

Check this rocking opening sequence from JQ

What a great cartoon this was. There is a real cinematic feel to the opening credits. Plus a viable sense of danger, in a kids show, it was great!

What do the boys of today grow up on?

Yea well okay…I of course have never seen that until just now, wow…I mean so Disney Channel is in part, responsible for the death of our culture. No one has really seemed to take notice. I know I didn’t.

Okay of course I’m back to social commentary. Can’t I jes watch something and not obsess about these bigger issues.  Back to fun!

I know I am not alone in this Jonny Quest boy crush. Out there in the big ol world there are obviously not only a lot of Jonny lovers, but a number of them were on a spiritual quest to bring Jonny back.

Now granted of course, like me theses boys grew up and have since become men (and like me I’m using the term in its’ gender qualifier, not as a maturity designator).

If you haven’t seen this next show yet yer in for a treat, if you have sit back and enjoy all over again…wait…all over again…%$&^%…

Okay well I can’t get this questionably obtained clip to embed. Instead, here are some screen shots from Adult Swim’s Harvey Birdman Attorney at Law (Creators:Michael Ouweleen, Erik Richter  ), S1E1 “The Best Parent Ever”. Like I said above, if you haven’t seen this show (and yer a fan of irreverent comedy) it would be worth yer while to check ‘er out

Harvey Birdman Attorney at Law meets with the Jonny & Haji  to explain custody suits

Harvey Birdman Attorney at Law meets with the Jonny & Haji to explain custody suits

Harvey questions Dr. Benton.

Harvey questions Dr. Benton.

All ends well

All ends well

Yea, well the video is a lot funnier, but still, the guys from Adult Swim get it, get the importance of Jonny, of bein the Jonny, o…

Okay well that’s goin over the top and even I can’t justify taking it there, not even in the name of comedy.

i did like the cartoon and think the difference in children’s programming between then and now has not had the intended effects that the safety first multicultural sensitive warm fuzzy eco fascist safety last crowd has wanted…whoa where did that come from we’re suppose to be having fun here okay how about this

More from the brilliant guys at Adult Swim , see if this reminds ya of anything

Another of my favorite shows Venture Bros (Program creators: Christopher McCulloch, Doc Hammer)itself an homage to JQ.

Better yet, Johnny himself shows up as a side character..

There are a number of episode where he makes an appearance, but as you can see things have not gone well for our poor hero…

Maybe it was the custody battle….

Okay well hopefully that was fun. The lawyers are asking that I add that I in no way wish to represent any of the above, save the written text, as work that I myself produced. All clips were pulled from yotube and the screen shots from www.adultswim.com. They are represented here for fun and to promote these shows I love, and have not and will not be used for monetary gain. If someone does decide to send me money (a laughable concept to be sure) for this particular post I will make sure I send you a percentage (what’s 15% of $2.50)….

wow that took the fun right out of it now didn’t it.

Leave a Reply

sadisticpretzel

Like Shakespeare but with more profanity

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Writings of a Mrs Mommy

Writings of a Mrs. Mommy is the Mommy blog to my Writings of a Mrs's blog. This blog will be more about my busy life with 8 children and the many adventures on how the Mrs. and Mr. manage it all! Humor, stress, love, food and photos will be the main focus. Alex and Jenn plus kids make TEN!

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

The Benevolent Couch Potato

My life with popular fictitious characters

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

poemsoftheinnerspark

Books For Sale

muags

Just words

Undefined Thoughts

Well, that came outta left field.....

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

