Home

Thanks but no Spanks

March 15, 2012

Okay ac ya f-tard I am going to try to stay nice…but I just have to come back to you once more…so bear with me folks but…I think it’s important to what I am trying to accomplish overall with my blog and that is that we cannot learn to discuss and solve our issues as a country with f-tards like you refusing to use yer critical thinking…

“OK first let me clarify my use of the word ‘violence’ in the context of parenting.

I am referring to the parent using physical force (or the threat of it) in place of reasoning and peaceful negotiation with the child. That physical force may include physical violence as a punishment (or the threat of violence to act as a deterrent). It could also refer to violence/ physical force used by the parent to impose his/ her will upon the child forcefully in the moment. Of course there is also the psychological component associated with these physical acts or threats (fear, pain, terror, abandonment, humiliation, anxiety, stress, confusion etc).

Now hopefully I finally understand yer argument, you believe any and I will repeat any type of discipline, negative; and only reasoning and peaceful negotiations with children to be appropriate. That’s all I was looking for, I mean, again I will say that yer statement is hilariously ridiculous…and also that you are right it is impossible to debate your argument…

As far as I can tell you support the use of this kind of violence on children and have used these kinds of parenting techniques yourself on occasion. In other words you support these parenting techniques and consider them preferable on occasion.”

Once again you fail to actually read, or choose to overlook, what I have actually said. I have said on more than one occasion during our dialogue that I believed as you did, and raised my children using these techniques reason and peaceful negotiations…I was pretty clear on that,  your lack of attention to this detail is just one of the reasons I am posting yer response again. I have, not just in these posts, but in the posts that I suggested you read (to get some background) have repeated on numerous occasions that it is the failure of not only these child raising techniques, but the overall dismal failure of much of my generation’s ‘nu-philosophies’ (we were actually suppose to improve society) that is a big part of the impetus for writing this blog (dysu) in particular.

What I realized upon my observing my own children struggle as they entered the adult world is that I failed them by not imparting certain key lessons of life, and I think they are the worse off for it. In hindsight, (what I have tried to explain to you) is that despite all I believed going into it, now having raised children and seeing the end result of “reason only” child rearing…I am ready to eat some crow and give a slight nod of acknowledgement to the thousands of generations (including even my own dysfunctional parents) who understood some discipline was necessary (again how much and of what type, when, where, that is debatable)…

I myself have never yet claimed to know anything specifically, I mean other to say I don’t know all I thought I knew, get it? Oh and that your logic sucks.

I'll try being nicer when you try being smarter

Speaking of debate, what you have also failed to realize is that I am not debating you (yet I mean how can I when you are right) on the topic of child rearing. I am only debating you on your use of faulty logic to prove your assertions. Your very premise, that all “discipline is is violence” is based on the theory that all discipline is applied inconsistently and with malice and this “fact” is incorrect, so it is impossible to debate.

Secondarily, is your stance on reasoning, like much of your theoretical argument,  it lies at the heart of the b.s. that all children are born with the equal capacity for intellectual thought and reason (another “pop” psychology” theory”).  A nice fairy tale but unsupported by actual fact.

Just so I make it clear abandonedculture, you can send me all the links and studies you want showing how beatings hurt kids (not my argument), you can send me all the studies you want supporting your side of the “reasoning vs. discipline” debate (I can do likewise but that’s not [though you have failed to grasp it yet] the topic here). But unless (that is if you are actually interested in an honest and open discussion) you can understand my two main points; 1. You have to use concise points addressing the topic at hand (the topic in this instance, the original article you had linked to was about clarifying laws regarding discipline, not beating, yet your original argument consistently and only resorted to the most graphic uses of over or excessive discipline [not allowing for the countless and well documented studies that suggest otherwise; that limited, proactive discipline done without malice or aggression is not only healthy but needed for a child]) 2. You need to understand your debate opponent (do your homework, read his position carefully, try not to make assumptions, if you do ask for clarification in case you are wrong).

Finally that leads me to my last point. I am still assuming you are a twenty something (grad student?) with no kids, I might be wrong, tried to find out really did. And if I assumed you believed 9/11 conspiracy (which you and every one else reading knows what I mean no matter how you try to obfuscate with some light and off target mockery) it is only because you posted and positively commented on a video supporting such views.  I assume these things because of what you yourself have said, not only here, but in other posts. I know you think your opinions are really wise, you can tell by this statement “It is an uncomfortable question, which I acknowledged when I asked it.” lol it is to laugh…

Please don’t respond, I get yer message, as goofy and unrealistic as it is, any discipline is bad discipline, you go and raise yer kids with that theory, hovering around your infant and toddler constantly, getting in endless theoretical loop arguments with a two year old extolling the virtue of carrots over potato chips, pointless debates with a thirteen year old over the importance of learning to spell when the computer just does it for them, only to lose the debate in the end and have a child who can’t spell anything past yer most basic words, that’s what I did, that’s what we as a country have been doing for the last thirty years or so, and it’s going great.

If I had my chance to do it over again I would say what my parents said “Do it because I told ya to.” That’s a pretty good lesson for life lol. I know you don’t agree…I don’t give an f….let me know what you think after you have raised some kids

And again ac, just so we’re clear, I am not debating you on yer topic, ( I can’t possibly take anything you say seriously due to the lack of intellectual merit) I was just trying to point out the flaws in yer debate style, so if you feel you must respond to this don’t if all you have to say is that ” Mmm, beating children is bad, Mkay”, cause we both agree on that .

Come back when yer older

Leave a Reply

sadisticpretzel

Like Shakespeare but with more profanity

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Writings of a Mrs Mommy

Writings of a Mrs. Mommy is the Mommy blog to my Writings of a Mrs's blog. This blog will be more about my busy life with 8 children and the many adventures on how the Mrs. and Mr. manage it all! Humor, stress, love, food and photos will be the main focus. Alex and Jenn plus kids make TEN!

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

The Benevolent Couch Potato

My life with popular fictitious characters

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

poemsoftheinnerspark

Books For Sale

muags

Just words

Undefined Thoughts

Well, that came outta left field.....

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

