Home

The Tree Falls Alone with the Sound of One Hand Clapping Pt. 1

November 19, 2011

Well okay, I mean all right so hello again. Little Mouse was worried bout my blood pressure after reading the last post. She said she can always tell how my days gone by how many f bombs I drop in my posts. She keeps after me to be a kinder gentler unit but the weather outside just started turning nasty, God bless America, I think that means that we’re (or more precisely you re: my crankiness) are pretty much screwed until March.

Anyway it put me in kind of funk this morning right off the bat and I realized the last thing I wanna go do is blog some long diatriblical rant about any of my usual topics this.

Which left me of course with the dilemma of what I was going to write about…? I should just post one of the back-ups I have ready, I know I still have to continue the Declaration of Dysfunction with Articles #2-#5 but…(well maybe I’ll post #2 later tonight) I kind’a wanted to do something fun.

See the things is I know I believe I am right, but you have to believe that I know that doesn’t mean I’m right.

Did ya follow that sentence? See I also know I am dysfunctional, so though I believe I am right about what I write about, I may just as easily…well…be wrong…see? Ya get it?

My main goal here is to discuss those things that are (that we accept as a society) our new truths (oh and even some old ones what the hell) that make my little dog chase it’s tail round and round.

Like say, the environmental or “green” movement. At it’s foundations the theories and ideology are hard to argue with. On the surface, if you don’t think too deeply about any of their claims the movement seems sound and genuine.

Until the little dog starts twirling. And here is why.

The statement goes like this: Because human beings have been, through their behaviors such as over use of resources,  disregard of chemical refuse, etc, extremely harmful to the planet and all life on it.

The environmental movement wants to help guide people gently (or through out lying and force…oh wait that’s my words  not theirs) to learn to modify said behaviors toward a more people/planet harmonious lifestyle there by assuring the planets continued existence.

If we don’t modify, we are told, the earth is doomed.

Have I got that right?  I wanna make sure. If I have spoken (typed) somewhere in error please some one correct me.

But I do believe that I have it pretty spot on, remember I use to be a “real” environmentalist myself…or was I?

Once in awhile, when a dog chases it’s tail long enough it catches it and here’s what happened when mine caught it’s tail.

I realized I wasn’t, that we (most in the movement) weren’t environmentalists at all but humanists.

The Earth is going to be fine and it is the height of arrogance to suggest that we, meaning humans could destroy it.

So the truth is then that we want to take care of the planet so that people continue to survive. (the theory that the entire human race would become extinct is also highly suspect).

That makes me a humanists.

Now if I’m a true environmentalist, a green guy for the planet then really I should be encouraging people, companies, countries to continue pollute. Bring on the fossil fuels and lets start clear cuttin’ some forests baby.

Then the earth will solve it’s own problems by wiping most of humanity out in some grand balancing act.

See okay well maybe I’m wrong like I said above, I’m no scientist or professor lol, but I think I can say that we, as a race will be hard pressed to destory this planet; this f-ing giant ball of rock floating in space.

At best we may put ‘er on her heals for awhile but the big ol’ girl would bounce back bigger and better than ever.

Can you tell me that I’m wrong…I mean really comment or e me if you think I’ve missed it.

But before you do and say something like…”So what if environmentalists want us to be good to the earth for people, that sounds like a good idea”. You’ve missed the point, I don’t care, I just don’t want you to call yourselves environmentalists, or “green” any more.. Call yourself what you are, that’s all I’m saying, call yourself a humanist and be proud of it.

I have this exact problem with many Christians today, oh and speaking of…

Jesus I’m already way over my word per post limit (self imposed, though there must be eventually some digital limit lol), and I know I said I would only talk about God related stuff on Sunday but I mean I’m on a roll and these questions end up being kind’a related, at least to my little dog.

One Response to “The Tree Falls Alone with the Sound of One Hand Clapping Pt. 1”


  1. Reblogged this on disfuctionalunit and commented:

    As a follow up to Earth Day’s post I thought I’d re-post of the first wrote on the subject.
    I’ll post pt. 2 later tonight or so, even though it goes a tad south…but I got a new Sinner’s Sermon post comin this Sunday so I guess it get us in the mood…
    Annyway hope ya’ enjoy n like the post says feel free to correct me where I’m wrong… 🙂


Leave a Reply

sadisticpretzel

Like Shakespeare but with more profanity

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Writings of a Mrs Mommy

Writings of a Mrs. Mommy is the Mommy blog to my Writings of a Mrs's blog. This blog will be more about my busy life with 8 children and the many adventures on how the Mrs. and Mr. manage it all! Humor, stress, love, food and photos will be the main focus. Alex and Jenn plus kids make TEN!

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

The Benevolent Couch Potato

My life with popular fictitious characters

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

poemsoftheinnerspark

Books For Sale

muags

Just words

Undefined Thoughts

Well, that came outta left field.....

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

Trent Lewin

Fiction, and other made-up stories

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

